Test Your Knowledge

There are six retriever breeds recognized by the AKC, and they are (in no particular order):

Labrador Retriever
Flat-Coated Retriever
Golden Retriever
Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever
Curly-Coated Retriever
Chesapeake Bay Retriever

Do you think you know which of them was the first to be recognized?  How about the last to be recognized?  As long as you’re at it, do you think you can arrange the breeds in the order in which they were recognized by date?  The answer appear below the arrows, but have fun and don’t peek on Google:

We’re betting a lot of you guessed that the Labrador Retriever came first, but you’d be wrong! Here is the order in which the retrievers were accepted followed by the date of recognition:

  1. Chesapeake Bay Retriever 1878
  2. Flat-Coated Retriever 1915
  3. Labrador Retriever 1917
  4. Curly-Coated Retriever 1924
  5. Golden Retriever 1925
  6. Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever 2003

How did you do?

Image: Dog icons by Swift-Whippet 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Optionally add an image (JPEG only)